Mpraeso SHS wins 4th Ghana Science Olympiad for SEIP Schools


Master Fynn Sackey Opoku Emmanuel of Mpraeso Senior High Technical on Monday won the overall best student for the 4th National Science Olympiad for schools under the Secondary Education Improvement Project(SEIP) at   KNUST. has confirmed.

Speaking at the climax of the 5day event, the Deputy Minister of Education Hon. Ntim Fordjour applauded all participating schools and students for going  through rigorous testing in application of the theoretical knowledge acquired in the respective schools.

In his address, he disclosed that the new budget made provision for retooling  science resource centres in  all SHSs to help students enjoy the study of science and mathematics.

“The retooling of the science centres will enhance the practical aspect of the study of science” He added.

Hon. Ntim Fordjour reaffirmed the Ministries unrelenting focus to strengthen STEM Education in the country.

In a her key note address, Prof Marian Asantewaa Nkansah from the Dept. of Chemistry ,called on all stakeholders to support and push STEM education forward  for Nation Building .

The overall best student, Master Fynn won a Gold medal, laptop, Plaque , certificate and a Biology  textbook.

Akusaki Benjamin Nartey  of Osei Kyeretwie SHS and Jonathan Wullar of Labone SHS won the 1st and 2nd runner up respectively.  They both had  medals, certificates ,Plaques and Biology text book.

The Director-General of GES gave a tablet each as his special award to all 16  GES  Regional STMIE coordinators.

Mpraeso SHS again received a 65 inch smart flat screen as Ministers special award for winning the overall best school.

Present at the event were Prof William Ellis Otoo, former Vice Chancellor KNUST, Dep. Director General, lawyer Anthony Boateng,  Mrs Olivia Serwaa Opare, Director Science Unit, Mrs Mary Owusu Afriyie,  Regional Director Ashanti, Mrs Patty Assan Director Schools and Instructions ,District Directors of Education, Dr. Jacob K. Agbenorhevi, senior Lecturer, Nana Baffour- Awuah, Director for Pre-tertiary, MoE, Mr. Julius Nkansah Nyarko, Chief Programs Officer, Renewable Energy, Ghana Energy Commission, Past Directors and staff of the science unit among others.

Credit: Public Relations Unit

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More